Asia Cup- everything you need to know

 The Asia Cup 2022, which was last played in 2018, was earlier set to take place in Sri Lanka but due to the rise of economic crisis in the country, the tournament was shifted to United Arab Emirates. The gulf nation will be hosting the event across two venues - Dubai International Cricket Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The very first edition of the Asia Cup was played in 1984 in UAE, where only three teams participated - India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan. The first ever Asia Cup was won by India after winning both matches. The Sri Lankan team were the runner-ups, with one loss and one win. Pakistan scored last after losing to both India and Sri Lanka.

The tournament opener match was played August 27 between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, won by Afghanistan. The second match of the series was played between the defending champions India against Pakistan on August 28 where India emerged victorious.

The 15th edition of Asia Cup is being played in the T20 format, featuring 6 teams. The teams are divided into two groups at the start. In their respective groups, the teams will be playing against one another once.

Group A consists of India, Pakistan, and Hong Kong. Group B consists of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. India is scheduled to play Hong Kong next on August 31.

The top two teams from both the groups will then advance to the Super 4s, where all the four teams will be playing once against each other.

The winning two teams from the Super 4s will advance to the final, scheduled to take place on September 11.

All matches will start at 6 PM Gulf Standard Time and 7:30 PM Indian Standard Time.

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28 August, Dubai

India v Hong Kong: 31 August, Duabi

Pakistan v Hong Kong: 2 September, Sharjah

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27 August, Dubai

Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30 August, Sharjah

Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1 September, Dubai

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3 September, Sharjah

A1 v A2: 4 September, Dubai

A1 v B1: 6 September, Dubai

A2 v B2: 7 September, Dubai

A1 v B2: 8 September, Dubai

B1 v A2: 9 September, Dubai


1st in Super 4 vs 2nd in Super 4, September 11, 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

Sports: The Virgin Blogs

Post a Comment